The First Step…..Eating!!

So I feel like before I start, I need to put a disclaimer in here–I am not a professional nutritionist or trainer so everything in here is just purely based off my experiences and knowledge.

Now I said in my intro post that I like starting fresh weeks on Mondays. I thought about this and I realized, why double shock my body? I workout now, I will probably up the cardio in my workouts next week, but let me change one thing at a time. I mean a shock to the body is sometimes what you need to battle those stubborn fat cells (like the pitter patter of your heart beat when you fall in love). But a heart attack is never good! So, change one thing at a time. I decided to start with getting myself on the right nutrient track first from Wednesday-Monday. We continue on that and add in religious workouts starting Monday.

Now anyone who has worked with a nutritionist knows the first thing they will ask is: can you please write down what you eat and give me a recall. Then they take what you eat, your likes/dislikes and put together a suitable plan. Based on how your body responds, they tweak the diets along the way.  Now I love pasta, I love fruits and my family has a history of low B12. I also travel a lot so I am prone to airline germs and hotel bacteria. Vitamin C!

When I first started with Rujuta, she gave me just a few “rules”:

1. Eat within the first 10 min of rising

2. Coffee should be after Meal 1 and limit two cups a day (same with tea)

3. Eat every 2-3 hours religiously

4. Try to have the last meal 2 hours before going to bed

5. Eat mind fully and slowly. Eat until you are 80% full, not 50%, not 100%. You get more to eat in 2 hours so you don’t need to stuff yourself.

6. Hydrate Hydrate Hydrate! 3-5L of water daily

7. Avoid fried food and desserts

She also emailed me and made me read an article  before I started: 

http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Repository/ml.asp?Ref=VE9JTS8yMDA4LzEwLzE3I0FyMDQ4MDA=&Mode=HTML&Locale=english-skin-custom

 showing me that it was not necessary to pack loads of home cooked food with me. If I am at home, yes! eat home cooked food. But if I am on the road, take my vitamins, my diet chart and eat locally and fresh! And so here I go, sharing the plan I have picked from my library of diets to be MY first diet. Remember, you can follow along with me, but what works for me, may NOT work for you. You may need some tweaks. I work out a lot, I retain water easily, and it is HOT HOT HOT where I am right now, so this carb-rich diet should help me with all that. 

The goal is:

Meal 1 (on rising 7:45am): Protein Shake or soy milk

Meal 2 (830-9am): Museli+Milk (Multi Vitamin+ B12)

Meal 3 (11am) Handful of unsalted Peanuts

Meal 4 (1:30pm): Sprouts or Beans Salad (Flaxseed)

Meal 5 (3.30pm): Bowl of Plain or Fruit Yogurt

Meal 6 (530pm): Slice of Cheese

Meal 7 (730-8pm): Veggies+Slice of Whole wheat toast (3 times a week) OR Small portion of whole wheat pasta +
veggies (4 times a week) (Vit C)

Beadtime: Calcium Citrate (Courtesy Rujuta Diwekar for Reshma Radia 01/09)

Now maybe we think, how can I DO this???  OR are you kidding, are you really eating this much?? Yep!! I love food and I am not going to starve myself which is why this works for me!

 The good news is, you can and SHOULD have a “cheat meal” once a week. I like to do it on Saturdays or Sundays. This can be yummy things like Pizza, Cake, Doughnuts, Bagels, French Fries, Samosas, etc .

I am personally a vegetarian. But if you want to eat non veg, go ahead. Substitute grilled chicken in for Veggies for dinner.

But log what you eat somewhere and don’t worry the day you slip up! Just get right back on that saddle and keep on going!

Last thought: Our favorite…alchohol. Well, bad news? Ideally you cut that out completely. Good news? You don’t HAVE to. Try to cut it down to once or twice a week. Stick to drinks that are not too heavy and try not to binge drink.

Let’s see the results!

About reshie2000

Just a regular working girl who likes health and fitness!

Posted on July 19, 2011, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

