step 2: Keep fitness levels changing and eat clean

The last few weeks have been a bit easy on my body. Mentally, i was not there to continue on with my regimen that I had established for the past 4 weeks. But I mindfully was okay with this small break of 2 weeks. Actually, it was not a full break 2 weeks ago, my workout regimen cooled down. I still went to the gym, maybe 2 days of Bikram Yoga, 1 day of cardio and one day of a walk outside for an hour. Last week, some stresses in my mind just completely weighed me down and I took it easy. I knew this was okay because this week—-we start a month of a “stepping it up” plan.But first, let’s talk about food. Eat clean! If you started a good clean plan, continue on with it. Here are two new plans to follow which are really quite fun(by Rashi Chowdhary):

Meal 1 (on rising): 6 almonds

Meal 2 (breakfast around 9am): rice milk or almond milk or plain milk with any 2 fruits

Meal 3: (11am-1130am): bowl of yogurt

Meal 4: (1pm): Cheese and Veggie sandwich on wheat bread OR 4 tbsp rice with beans and veggies

Meal 5: (4pm): handful unsalted peanuts

Meal 6: (dinner, 630): daal/green sabzi OR veg and tofu stirfry

meal 7(9pm): protein shake

OR another meal plan :

Meal 1: 6 almonds

Meal 2: Paneer Bhurji (or 3 egg whites)

Meal 3: slice of cow cheese

Meal 4: (lunch): Steamed moong sprouts and tomato soup OR 8-10 tablespoons of fresh guacamole and tomato soup (love guac!)

Meal 5: bowl of plain yogurt

Meal 6 (early dinner, 1-1.5 hrs pre Bikram Yoga): 1 roti+daal+ veggie sabzi OR mexican rice bowl (6-8 tbsp rice+ black beans+ veggies +lettuce and salsa) OR veggie sushi and edamame

Meal 7 (post workout OR if not working out evening snack) (9/930pm): 1 scoop protein shake (I use chocolate)

A stepping it up plan gets the body in high gear and great fitness shape. This is something that should not be sustained for more than a few weeks, as the body will indeed get tired. I just need something new to do to get me back on track.  For those trying to lose some weight, I have some great advice I got from my friend and certified yoga/fitness trainer Rebecca Thieneman.  I told her I was back on my Bikram yoga kick and I wanted to know for my blog and personal knowledge how that can fit into a workout plan for a) someone who is trying to maintain a healthy level of fitness b) someone who is trying to lose weight.  So, her response was this (incidentally, this also co-coincided with what Rashi had told me NOT to do so that I would NOT lose too much weight due to going for Bikram so many times a week):

 

“Your weight will flux related to water weight, and of course you could potentially lose weight related to the increase in kcal expenditure being in the heat, etc. For weight loss, about 90 min most/all days of the week is essential. You could maximize these results by heart rate training in your aerobic zones. I also have found interval training to be super successful for myself and clients. I would start with cardio on the non-yoga days, and you might explore doing some additional cardio on the yoga days, e.g. if yoga is at night, try morning (pre- breakfast) cardio. Something like 20-30 min of intervals or 45-60 min of lower intensity. Just an idea. You can play with the time, type, and intensity to see what works for you.”

 

So, you want to lose weight? 90 minutes 6 days a week folks! If you don’t need to lose weight, take out the intervals and cut down on the cardio, continue with toning via yoga or weights. Some good intervals:

1 min sprint on treadmill or outside, 1 min walk for 20-25 minutes

1 min high resistance on an elliptical (10-12 level), 2 minutes recovery level (5-6 or lower) for 25 minutes

1 min normal level on elliptical, but high speed, 2 min recovery speed for 20-25 min

You can do these on a bike as well. Another interval workout I LOVE who my friend Farhad had taught me is my light post workout. Find a street of light posts and use those as markers. One “round” consists of:

Lamp post 1-2: walk

Lamp post 2-3: light jog

Lamp post 3-4: Run

Lamp post 4-5: Sprint

Do this for 10 rounds which means you probably would be about a mile or more out from your starting point and then jog back home. This would be about 20-30 min workout. And fun!

So the suggested “step up” plan would be something as such(building upon the beginners plan from my last post):

Day 1: 40-50 min cardio in any form (but make sure you get your heart rate up there, challenge yourself)+15-20 min ab exercises

Day 2: Power/Bikram yoga or weight training (upper or lower body)+20 min of intervals

Day 3: 40-50 min cardio in any form+15-20 min ab exercises

Day 4: Take off

Day 5: Power/Bikram yoga or weight training (upper or lower body)+20 min of intervals

Day 6: Can repeat Day 1 or Day 2 based on goals

Eat clean, step it up and see yourself transform into being fit and fab and full of new found energy!

 

 

About reshie2000

Just a regular working girl who likes health and fitness!

Posted on March 27, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

